Skip to content
NAD+ Picks
Updated monthly

The best NAD⁺ supplements — and the one recommendation we make no money from

If you read one page on this site, make it this one. Oral NAD⁺ precursors are the cheapest way to raise NAD⁺ and the only format with randomized human trials showing they reliably do it. They are also the format we earn nothing from — we declined the affiliate program of the best-studied brand in the category. We think you should probably start here anyway.
By Miriam HollisEvidence & trials
2 providers comparedReviewed against our editorial methodologyUpdated September 2026
The shortlist

2 providers, side by side

We do not run a paid shortlist on this page. The brands discussed below are named because of what has been published about their ingredient, not because of a commercial relationship — we have none here, by choice.

Sort
  • Tru Niagen

    The strongest evidence, at the lowest price

    Access

    Not published up front

    Insurance

    Medications

    — not specified

    Visit

  • Enhance MD

    Lab-guided dosing, or a sublingual alternative

    Access

    Not published up front

    Insurance

    Medications

    — not specified

    Visit

We never show a fabricated price or rating. Facts are shown only where a provider publishes them.

NR, NMN, and what each has actually been shown to do

Nicotinamide riboside (NR) is the most clinically studied NAD⁺ precursor. Randomized controlled trials in humans show it reliably raises blood NAD⁺ levels. The best-known brand is Tru Niagen, from ChromaDex, which is also the ingredient most of the published NR research used. We are not in their affiliate program and earn nothing if you buy it. We are telling you about it because the evidence says we should.

Nicotinamide mononucleotide (NMN) also raises NAD⁺ in human studies. Its complication is regulatory rather than scientific: NMN’s status as a lawful dietary supplement ingredient in the United States is unresolved, which affects availability rather than whether it works.

Now the part that matters most, and that applies to both. Raising blood NAD⁺ is established. Whether raising it produces the outcomes NAD⁺ is sold for — more energy, sharper thinking, slower aging — is not established in controlled human outcome trials, for any format. What oral precursors have is the best evidence for the mechanism, at the lowest price. That is a real advantage over a $199 injection or a four-figure drip course, and it is not the same thing as proof that the end result you want will follow.

Anyone who tells you a NAD⁺ product reverses aging is ahead of the data. That includes the providers we do earn from, on our injections page.

How we judge providers

  • Evidence quality — does the seller describe what NAD⁺ can and cannot do accurately, and does the format they sell have human data behind it?
  • Price transparency — can you find the real all-in monthly cost, and the dose it buys, before creating an account?
  • Value for money — what you pay against what you receive, measured against the rest of the category rather than against the seller’s own claims.
  • Ordering experience — how straightforward the intake, prescribing and delivery actually are, including whether the NAD⁺ product is reachable at all from the page their link lands on.
  • Clinical support — access to a real clinician after the sale, and how cancellation is handled.

We never show a fabricated price or rating, and access notes appear only where a provider publishes them. Pricing and availability change often — confirm current details on the provider’s own site.

Keep comparing

NAD⁺ injections compared · Why IV costs the most and proves the least · The cheapest way to try NAD⁺ · How we make money

Common questions

What is the best NAD⁺ supplement?
On weight of published human evidence, nicotinamide riboside — the ingredient in Tru Niagen — is the most clinically studied NAD⁺ precursor and reliably raises blood NAD⁺ in randomized trials. We earn no commission on it and are not in its affiliate program. NMN is the main alternative and also raises NAD⁺, with an unresolved regulatory status in the United States.
NR or NMN — which is better?
NR has more published human trial data behind it, and it is the ingredient used in most of the research people cite when they talk about NAD⁺ precursors at all. NMN raises NAD⁺ too. Neither has demonstrated the downstream anti-aging outcomes the category markets. If you want the option with the most evidence behind the mechanism, that is NR.
Are supplements better than NAD⁺ injections?
On evidence and on price, yes — which surprises most people. Oral precursors have randomized human data showing they raise NAD⁺ and cost a fraction of an injection or a drip. Injectable and IV NAD⁺ have no controlled outcome trials for wellness uses at all. The one thing injections offer is bypassing digestion, which sounds decisive and has not been shown to produce better results.
Why do you recommend something you do not earn from?
Because the alternative is recommending something worse and hoping you do not notice. We declined the affiliate program of the best-studied brand in this category, and we cover it anyway. If we only recommended what pays us, nothing else on this site would be worth reading — including the pages where we do earn a commission.
Do NAD⁺ supplements have side effects?
Oral precursors are generally well tolerated in the trials that have been run, but supplements are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or efficacy before sale, and individual responses vary. Talk to a clinician before starting one, particularly if you take other medication. See our medical disclaimer.